Nowadays, a lot of offices employ open-space designs instead of separate rooms for work. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Currently, many workplaces have had coworking spaces as a replacement for isolated rooms. Even though this development gives immense benefits in cost savings, increased teamwork and creativity efficiency, it also presents many drawbacks such as a lack of privacy, concentration, and health safety. This essay outlines the pros and cons of using open spaces in lieu of private rooms for work. Initially, the foremost upside is that opening design for working environment enhances teamwork efficiency and creativity. In other words, using a shared workspace gives members of a team more opportunities to share their ideas, connect and build relationships. Consequently, designing open spaces in offices can reduce the cost of many materials. For instance, some materials including partition construction can be cut off and the amount of equipment such as lights and air conditioners is also reduced. As far as disadvantages are concerned, an open-space workplace might cause a lack of privacy during working time. That means employees can move around freely, easily see the work screens, and watch others. Additionally, the staff can be distracted occasionally which usually leads to low productivity. Furthermore, this kind of workplace in many cases has some negative effects on employees’ health. The reason is that there are various kinds of respiratory diseases and dermatological diseases which usually spread in crowded environments or through sharing office supplies. In conclusion, although there are some drawbacks to this approach, the upsides of work efficiency and the promotion of creativity are clear. That can be an option for many companies to improve the quality of work.