Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case ? What could be the disadvantage of being self-employed ?

We live in an age, where many of us are busy struggling in their nine-to-five jobs to earn every possible cent. There is no denying the fact that being self-employed has its own benefits which may outweigh working in a company or organisation. This essay will examine both sides before reaching a concrete decision. To begin with, being employed by a company provides numerous benefits,including employment and sickness benefits. In addition, there is always job security. Employing human resources aids in work-life balance especially, in huge organisations like Samsung or Apple. On the contrary, there are a few drawbacks such as promotion. Big organisations have a fixed income over a period of time which might take years to rise up and the process is quite slow in nature. For instance, in the sales department, it is crucial for a manager or the chief officer to achieve target-related sales annually to have a consistent income. However, this case is not similar when it comes to self-employment. It is worth considering that being self-employed can lead to an increase in financial rewards in terms of benefits such as high paying increments and incentives. Furthermore, the name and fame of the business owner surge up/ escalate. Delegation of responsibilities increases and in turn leads to career progression and promotes being a higher authority. Some people claim that there are a few disadvantages such as lack of motivation and initiative at times. One of the most important factors contributing to the disagreement of self-employment is the disturbance of valuable time caused on account of overtime and unsociable working hours. For example, working on weekends when everyone is usually enjoying or partying around. Consequently, many people turn into workaholics. Moreover, it might affect health and well-being. To conclude, working in a company or being self-employed has its own effects and side-effects, despite the essential factor behind every work is the passion for work. As long as one is motivated and influenced, the outcome will always be positive.