Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some adopt a view that individualism is likely to be a result of letting young generations make their own stuff, others think that parents should allow their children to self-decide. Both views of this statement will be discussed in the essay below before my point will be drawn in the end. On the one hand, empowering the youngsters would probably shape their selfishness. Having said that, the juveniles tend to be indifferent to their surroundings. They are thought to be ego-centric, in which they merely desire to do whatever they would like regardless of others' thoughts. This would enable them to hurt humans such as parents or friends, resulting in unexpected implications later on. For example, they could splurge on buying clothes that exceed their budget despite their parents' discouragement. On the other hand, however, youngsters would be stronger and more independent when being empowered. In fact, the young are believed to be more courageous since they could make their ultimate decisions, facilitating them to become go-getters in the future, which are pivotal for society to boost economic growth. Without empowerment, the young are thought to be shy and dependent on their families, which would enable them to be daunting when facing setbacks or obstacles ahead. Thus, it is fundamental for adults to nudge their boys or girls in the right direction by allowing them to make their own choices. In conclusion, I strongly believe that mom and dad should let their boys or girls be the centre of options. Meanwhile, there is a widely held view among people that this would cause some risks such as raising their selfish behaviour.