The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Compared to the previous centuries, In the 21st century almost all around the world generally and in Great Britain the excessive amount of car usage is being experienced which leads to traffic congestion and an alarming level of pollution. I strongly agree that different means of transit should be stimulated besides implementing new international rules due to regulate private vehicle possession and usage. Firstly, people especially who live in big cities suffer from heavy traffic on roads which can be inexorably linked to the overwhelmingly high level of transport usage. According to the researches, almost every family owns a car, sometimes two private cars can be observed per family in urbanized cities such as London and Istanbul. As a consequence of this propensity, long tailbacks can not be avoidable during rush hours. Encouraging alternative modes of transport has the potential to ease the sum of cars on roads. On the other hand, the level of private automobile dependence is increasing day by day which can also lead to several global issue such as atmosphere pollution. To put it simply, the emissions and fumes of vehicles cause this kind of severe problem as recent research have shown. It is widely accepted that one of the dominant sources of air pollutants is vehicle emissions, particularly in developing cities, and the increasing severity and duration of transport congestion have the potential to greatly increase pollutant emissions and degrade atmosphere quality. In terms of managing the increasing sum of car possession government should impose new rules, like increasing taxes on car ownership and preventing the number of cars per family. In addition, if these sorts of implementations could be accompanied by stimulating different forms of transport namely trams, trains and bikes, this would handle the severe dilemma which have already been mentioned above. In conclusion, as a result of the growing number of vehicles on roads, transit congestion and breeze contamination is increasing respectively. It seems logical that alternative transportation and regulatory laws should be motivated to tackle car possession related complication.