Some say that young people should take a break between school and university to go travelling and learn more about the world. Others say that it is better for them to go straight to university from school, and then go travelling when they have finished their studies. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In recent years it is becoming more popular among young people to take a gap year between school and university instead of going straight to university until the end of studies. During this gap year, people can go travelling, learn about the world around them and decide which role in this world they would like to take. On the one hand, there is a number of advantages and opportunities to taking a break between studies. First of all, the ability to travel is a great opportunity for people in their youth. Obviously, people can’t stay in luxury hotels, eat in expensive restaurants and use high-quality services when they are only 18 years old, however, they can see the world around them with enormous amazing places with breathtaking views that everyone has to visit one day in their life, make connections with people from different nations and learn their cultures. Moreover, during this period of time people will have a chance to learn more about themselves and their place in this world. For instance, some people can find out that they are into helping others and decide to become a doctor or join some volunteer organisations in the future. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks. Firstly, this year of freedom can distract a young person so much that they will lose their urge to go to university at all. Nonetheless, I believe that being educated is very important for everyone in the modern world and this decision could be a vital mistake. In addition, I suppose that in many families parents will argue the decision to take a gap year and most likely won’t support it. For example, it is more adequate to save money for future studies than to spend it on travelling around the world for the whole year. In conclusion, there is a number of both advantages and disadvantages to taking a break between school and university. Nevertheless, I believe that despite the drawbacks it is a great chance to learn more about the world and yourself, and if I had this chance in my youth I would definitely take it.