Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A few people believe that advertisements inspire us to purchase unnecessary items while others say that advertisements inform us about the new items that we could actually be benefitted from. Well, this is the power of advertisements. This essay will discuss both views. It is very common that we get caught in advertisements and end up buying things that we don't need thus spending a lot of money. For example, we end up buying a phone, even if our old phone works perfectly well because we don't want to feel left out and try to keep up with the trend. We have not only spent lavishly, but we have also replaced a perfectly working phone. On the flip side, in this age and time things are getting changed rapidly, we have to constantly upgrade ourselves with the latest technology. Advertisements play an important role here by informing us all about the latest in news. For example, the newer cars models have increased safety and reduced fuel consumption thus making them better than the previous/old ones. In my opinion, I feel that advertisements have both advantages and disadvantages and using them wisely is under each person's control. Advertisements can give a hole in your pocket or make you take wise decisions and you will have to take control of it smartly.