It's generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for music and sport, and others are not. However, it's sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. Discuss both ideas by giving your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this present world, some people believe that a child can be taught to be good at certain skills such as music and sport. Meanwhile, another group of people reckon that people are born with those abilities. Both views have their negatives and positives. In this essay, I will discuss both of them. To begin with, some say that one's skills are inherent and we are simply born with them. For instance, some children can play instruments like piano or violin much better than many adults and some have substantial abilities to solve mathematical problems. In addition, many of these youngsters have not been trained to do any of these which means that they are inherently good at them. Therefore, an individual can be born with great capacities and succeed in a specific field with minimal effort. On the other hand, another group tend to think that we can educate any children to be excellent in subjects like music and sport. Moreover, they reckon that with a high-quality acquisition in a specific subject, they can improve children's performance significantly. To illustrate this, recent studies have shown that one must deliberately practise for at least ten thousand hours in order to become a world-class expert. deliberate practice is a process of continuous practice and appraisal which is a well-known method for improvement in skills. Thus, anyone can be educated to have an amazing performance in a particular field. To conclude, some think that we are born with abilities and others reckon that children can gain those skills through efficient education. In my opinion, what we are born with has an immense impact on our capabilities but we can change most of it by deliberate practice and improve ourselves to be truly great. Given the current circumstances, it is recommended to focus on what we can control which is our educational system.