A rise in the standard of living in a country often only seems to benefit cities rather than rural areas. What problems can this cause? How might these problems be reduced?

It is commonly believed that cities benefit more from the improvement in the living standard of a nation than villages. I believe it can lead to some serious issues like overpopulation and the overuse of city resources. For me, government regulations and support are the major initiatives required to counter these problems. With metros being more developed, overcrowding is the major issue since a greater number of villagers migrate to them for better job opportunities resulting in overpopulation, which can lead to further issues. Higher demand puts too much pressure on living resources, such as housing, healthcare, and education, leading to hyperinflation and making city life unaffordable over time. For instance, Delhi, with a rising standard of life, had a huge influx of people in the last decade and now has the highest cost of living in India. Moreover, this increased living cost leads to an increase in crime rates with people resorting to any illegal means for their sustenance. Talking about solutions, the government has a major role to play to counter these issues. Firstly, more policies are required to bring more employment to villages and make them self-sustaining over time. Initiatives like vocational training centres and setting up local industries will ensure people from small towns can earn a livelihood without having to go to bigger towns. Secondly, thoughtful long-term planning and implementation are required so that rural areas and cities get equal benefits over time with the overall development of a nation. This will ensure fighting the problem at the root level rather taking only remedial action at later stages. In conclusion, unequal growth in living standards across downtown and villages can lead to major problems for the nation. It is only via judicial planning and extra government support such obstacles can be countered.