Dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society?

Smoking epidemic is a serious problem across the globe. Even people who smoke are aware of its hazards, they still find it hard to quit as they become addicted to it. This essay will discuss the main cause of this issue and what can be implemented in order to decrease smoking rate in communities. Many factors contribute to people being unable to give up smoking despite knowing how perilous it is. The most profound one is a medical condition called an addiction. A person who smokes regularly develops nicotine dependence – addictive substance found in tobacco. Furthermore, whenever a victim wants to break this unhealthy habit, he starts suffering from anxiety as well as anger all of which are characteristics of addiction, which in its turn puts a further strain on the existing difficulty. For example, the survey conducted recently by BBC news, has revealed that the majority of smokers voted for the afterwards problems due to addiction to be their main concern in not quitting smoking. On the other hand, a myriad of effective solutions could be fruitful in coping with people who smoke. The most effective measure here is increasing cigarettes taxes, which should be regulated by government. In other words, should the cost of cigarettes be higher, it will deter would-be smokers. Take Singapore, for example, where the proportion of smokers was growing considerably and with the help of tobacco and cigarette tax authorities were able to control this pressing issue. In conclusion, while addiction is the main reason for people not giving up smoking, this issue can be tackled to a great extent if principals increase the tax which is imposed on cigarettes, leading to people being unwilling to spend money on them.