In many countries, people do not recycle waste materials, such as bottles and newspapers. What are the reasons for this? What could be done to solve this problem?

In a large number of nations, people ignore the importance of recycling waste materials, including bottles and newspapers, and send everything to landfill. This essay will discuss why this might be the case and how this problem can be alleviated. To begin with, there are two possible reasons that can be equally argued. Firstly, one of the causes could be a lack of awareness in terms of long-term consequences. For instance, the hospitality industry is a clear example of ignoring the importance of recycling since tons of one-use plastic are daily used and this could cause a detrimental impact on the environment. Secondly, governments globally invest only a minor budget in providing information and building infrastructures for citizens to recycle more. For example, Australia, surprisingly, has only two different types of communal bins, and recyclable and non-recyclable items are mixed up constantly. All things considered, these problems could result in negative effects on the environment in the near future. To deal with these challenges, there is much that can be conducted to solve these problems. For example, one possible approach would be for the government to promote awareness campaigns not only to adults but also to children at schools. Hopefully, more and more demographics will respond positively to these new strategies and start recycling waste materials or even reducing the plastic and paper consumption. Another feasible approach would be for the government to construct modern infrastructures to assist business and householders in recycling. In short, if these measures were introduced, an increase of recycling of bottles and newspapers might be visible in the short-term. In conclusion, it is the lack of awareness about the dangerous repercussions to the environment and the poor government investment, the main reasons why people do not recycle. When governments implement effective information campaigns and new infrastructure, people might change their perspective and choose to do the right thing.