Some people think high school graduates should travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to study at university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both approaches. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In recent years, it has been more common for high school students to travel to other countries or work for several years before studying at university. Then, more high school graduates are eager to know the advantages and disadvantages of having gap years. In the following, I will offer my view on this issue. The first advantage is earning different life experiences. No matter at high school or university, students primarily concentrate on their learning. They spend most of their time at school, attending lessons, doing homework, or preparing for examinations. Hence, their life experience is very limited. Comparatively, travelling around the world or working for a period of time may provide these teenagers with another life experience. Travelling to other countries allows them to interact with people of various colours, languages, or cultural backgrounds. Getting into the job market gives them a chance to cooperate with people of different ages, dealing with specific assigned tasks. These are all life experiences school teaching cannot offer. With more life experience, there is a second advantage. That is, these high school graduates may have a more clear goal in their life. School teachers and parents basically give their life goals in high school. And obviously, the purposes are having good examination results and successfully getting into the university. They do not really have their own targets. With more life experience, they become more mature to think about their life and are able to find out what they really want, which can be being a kitchen, running a marathon, or living in a foreign country. However, there are also disadvantages of having gap years. Firstly, learning knowledge is more efficient at a younger age. Scientific research demonstrates that a younger human brain is better at absorbing and digesting knowledge. Having gap years means that high school students need to study at university at an older age. In this way, they cannot learn the most updated knowledge at their best status. Secondly, in the job market, every second is important. Having gap years means that students may need more time to graduate from the university. If they get into the job position earlier, they may have a few years of working experience more than their peers. These few years can be crucial for their future career, allowing them to get a promotion faster than the others. In short, there are benefits and drawbacks of having gap years before studying at university. On one side, students can earn alternative life experiences and thus have a clearer goal in their life. On the other side, this action may be detrimental to their learning efficiency and their future career.