Nowadays online shopping is extremely popular. What impact does it have on the environmental and people? Who lost their jobs because of it?

At the present time, online shopping is highly favourable, which has various influences on different aspects such as the environment and individual's life. It also is vanishing some local businesses and jobs as long as providing new opportunities. One of the most important environmental effects of online shopping is reducing transportation for shopping. In fact, by purchasing items online, through different software and websites, less fossil fuels are consuming which results in lower levels of greenhouse gases and air pollution. On the other hand, as online shopping is quick and comfortable, it might increase consumerism. Consumerism's cultural effects on the environment would be detrimental due to stimulating the manufacturing and producing more artificial products. Influences of expanding online shopping on people are different. Although it provides people with more free time, it reduces their physical activity, which could be problematic in a long run. Another important point to consider is that with less physical shopping, people's awareness of their neighbourhood and local businesses will decline sooner or later. As mentioned above, expanding online shopping have negative effects on people's communication with local businesses and companies. It means less support for these small businesses which are not active on the internet or do not advertise on social media. By losing their customers, these companies will lose many job positions due to lower profitability and interest. In conclusion, the extension of online shops has affected people's routine dramatically and in my opinion, will remove a lot of local businesses which does not accept this opportunity to expand online.