In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

Shopping habits have been changing as there are many opportunities for individuals to buy different products. From our last generation to kids these days, people have fundamentally different purposes for their purchases. In this essay, this approach will be discussed in terms of either positivity or negativity, and more importantly, the positive aspect of this trend will be supported. To begin with, it is obvious to say people had limited access to different items from various locations or sources many years ago. For instance, if a man, from Turkey, wanted to buy some medical products such as herbal medicine, he should travel to another country like China; however, he might have no idea about the precise location. For this reason, they were confined to their regions. Therefore, they had to buy some local items on a daily basis. Having said that, these days, people can surf the Internet to easily find their arbitrary items from different websites with a wide variety of brands. For example, even a boy from Japan can place an order from a Canadian's website. This buying habit has gradually changed to purchasing some unnecessary or luxury items. The comparison of two generations needs thorough analysis, and on top of that, we need some statistical data in terms of economical factors. However, it is a common belief that economic growth substantially depends on the number of exports or imports. In other words, if a country can sell different products to various countries then it has a powerful economy. From a domestic perspective, we can say whenever people buy different items frequently, their industry will thrive eventually. For this reason, shopping as a hobby can help a country's economy to grow even though it might have some devastating consequences like consumerism or environmental disasters. To conclude, as we discussed, this trend has some advantages as well as disadvantages. Personally speaking, I believe the more people buy different products either for their daily needs or as their hobbies, the better economy they will have, despite having some negative effects.