Weddings are getting bigger and more expensive. What is the reason for this? Is it positive or negative development?

Last month, I was invited by my friend Peter to his wedding. He told me that he spent over $100,000 on his wedding. It is not a single case. Nowadays, people's weddings have become more expensive and larger than before. In the following, I will suggest my reason for this and argue that it is a negative development. I think the change in social culture causes the mentioned phenomenon. In modern society, people have become more materialistic. They do not find inner and spiritual satisfaction meaningful. Rather, they find happiness by having more money and possessing more luxury products. And in order to maximize their pleasure, they show off these things to their friends and families. This change in the social atmosphere is also reflected by weddings. Couples are more tend to illustrate their richness by having a grand and expensive wedding. Some even employ professional wedding companies to organize their weddings, including video taking and a five-star hotel booking service. However, I argue that such a trend is a negative development. The most fundamental element of getting married is the love between the wife and the husband. The couples wish to live together for their future life and promise each other regardless of any difficulties. Yet, the grand and expensive weddings shift people's attention to something wrong, making people misunderstand the crucial point of a successful marriage. They falsely believe that successful marriage is also somewhat materialistic. They have to provide their partners with money, houses, and cars to maintain their relationship. It is not the case. The key is still that they love each other. In conclusion, I point out that today's weddings are more grand and expensive due to social-cultural change, in which people have become more materialistic than in the past. Apart from that, I contend that it is a negative development as people no longer realize that the critical component of marriage is love.