In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunities to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Earlier, students pursued their further education in their respective countries. In today’s era, many of them are opting to obtain their degrees abroad. This essay will elaborate on both the benefits and downfall of this phenomenon, along with suitable instances and will justify the agreement with the former statement. “Studying abroad is the single most effective way of changing the way we view the world.” - Chantal Mitchell. Several individuals believe that gaining an international education qualification has innumerable merits both personally and professionally. Pupils are able to obtain enhanced levels of exposure. Children studying in international universities receive thorough exploration in their choice of courses. This in turn helps them gain the skill set required in their career development. Moreover, in many developed nations, where literacy is prioritized, ensuring all the students are entitled to qualitative studies. To give a clear example, in developing nations like India, though literacy is emphasized, nevertheless, this sector requires more investment as there are lesser equipment and resources which leads to a shortage of admissions, ultimately leading the educators to pursue learning from elsewhere. Several filed of students from engineering, medicine, and design, are choosing to reside in the UK. The programmes taught have all the resources and equipment which never fall short, ensuring the learning is promoted amongst all scholars. Additionally, this concept also contributes to the personal as well as work ethic development of the pupil. The person becomes more independent and mature, which helps him make rational decisions in both work and life aspects. An example, a German study conducted which was published on the website of the University of California, Merched showcased that the personality traits of 90% of students were enhanced when they went overseas: openness, conscientiousness, extraversion, agreeableness, emotional stability. However, there are certain pitfalls regarding this developing concept. Although it is affirmative that scholars in manifold would like to earn a globally recognised degree for their choice of programmes, they face some barriers related to this. The major factor which is faced by the learners is related to financial issues. The majority of people who wish to fulfil their dreams to learn more about their field in-depth have a crisis based on finances. The prices of tuition and cost of living are extremely high and are hard to cover. Furthermore, they are also prone to face cultural barriers, which sometimes prove to make their living and settling a bit difficult. Scholars are unable to learn the language of the particular company they are residing in, which can be problematic for them. Along with that, with the ongoing pandemic, few educators have backed out from their decision of pursuing further studies. An example,as per a survey conducted by Abbie Gurthie S.,Higher literacy marketing, it was revealed that 5.4% of the students are willing to cancel their studies altogether. In conclusion, there may be some pitfalls to this phenomenon, but there are many profitable gains that can be achieved by educators in order to improve their path of careers. The future generation who plan to gain knowledge, hone their skills and make something out of their lives should opt to receive their educational degrees from different countries.