Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed that increasing the number of sports facilities is the most effective way to improve public health. While I tend towards the viewpoint that proper health education is a better solution. On the one hand, human health could be enhanced thanks to sports centres. Because gym classes provide modern equipment to help people do exercise simply. In addition, that place also has personal trainers who are able to design safe and effective exercise programmes. As an illustration, many of my colleagues often attend yoga classes near my company every afternoon to keep fit and stay healthy. But this method isn’t compatible with all people, particularly people who don’t have more spare time. Besides, the cost of sports clubs is too expensive for some citizens to attend regularly. On the other hand, I suppose that health education is more potential and is applied to everyone. This way provides basic knowledge about common health problems, hence individuals know what should do to prevent diseases. Due to being equipped with health awareness, a person could perceive the detrimental impact of fast food and limit eating too much. Besides, people know highly nutritious products such as vegetables, nuts, and fish. An example that illustrates the benefit of this solution is when a teenager knows more about the harmful effects of smoking, he might be less likely to take up this bad habit in his adulthood. Local governments should organize public campaigns and health protection programmes so that people know how to protect their health effectively. In conclusion, the growth of sports amenities enhances some people ’s health, but not at all. I personally believe raising public awareness about health would have a more positive impact.