In some countires, many young people choose to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting universitiy studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages

In some countries, many young people believe that they should have a gap year doing things they need to before university. In the following paragraphs, advantages and disadvantages will be discussed in detail before the conclusion is reached. It is undeniable that the proportion of people taking a gap year increased dramatically over the decades. For instance, researchers in South Korea present that the number of Korean people who have chosen to work before starting university studies rose significantly from 2% in 1998 to approximately 10% in 2022. That reports show profound percentages, which means there have many benefits to a gap year. For example, a gap year can cause people to prepare themselves before going to university, which means they can find their truth passionate. Next, These young people tend to be more open-minded and have more outstanding communication because they have to show their families their ideas, and it is pretty hard to get other people to understand. On the other hand, in many countries, having a gap year is not a good idea which means some people believe that it is a waste of time. For example, In China, many students try to get to a good university after high school. In other words, their Chinese parents believed that their child could not be successful without university. Moreover, having a gap year has many disadvantages, wasting time and spending lots of money. In conclusion, there are also have positives and negatives to having a gap year. That is to say, you should understand that you may find your true passion. However, you have to spend lots of time and money.