Weddings are getting bigger and more expensive. What is the reason for this? Is it positive or negative development?

In recent years, more couples have tended to spend a large sum of money on employing professional companies to organize their weddings, with the five-stars hotel and the video team. In the following, I will explain why it is happening and argue that it is a negative development. I argue that weddings have become more grand and expensive as people are more materialistic in current society. They do not find inner and spiritual satisfaction important; rather, their satisfaction comes from possessing more money and luxury products. To maximize their happiness, they show off their richness to friends and families by having grand and expensive weddings. I suggest that this change in the social atmosphere is a negative development. Firstly, people falsely believe that successful marriage is materialistic as their weddings. They have to provide their partners with money, houses, and cars to maintain their relationship. However, the crucial point of a successful marriage should be love and promise. The couples truly love each other and promise to live together regardless of any future difficulties. Secondly, people wrongly believe that inner and spiritual satisfaction is not essential. It is true that our life cannot lack money, though our happiness also comes from inner and spiritual satisfaction that money cannot buy. For instance, completing a marathon competition can also make us feel satisfied and joyful, yet we can only achieve this by practising hard. In conclusion, I point out that todays' weddings reflect people's materialistic character and that this is a negative development as people misunderstand the true meaning of successful marriage and happiness.