The best way to solve the world's environmental problems is to increasing the cost of fuel. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the solution to the world's environmental problems. However, whether increasing the cost of fuel would be the best measure is a controversial issue. I agree with the view that changing the price of fuel would mitigate the environmental problems in the world for the following reasons. First, it is clear that when the price of fuel increases, power plants would find alternative energy resources such as nuclear power or renewable energy to replace fossil fuels. This means that fewer greenhouse gases and emissions are released into the atmosphere. Therefore, it could contribute to solving global warming and air pollution. Moreover, rising fuel prices would lead to increasing commuting costs, which would alter the form of transport people use. People tend to take public transport, carpool or cycle to work rather than use their private vehicles. As a result, this helps reduce the number of exhaust fumes emitted into the environment. According to recent surveys of environmentalists, the emission of CO2 from cars annually takes up about 65%. This figure would reduce by about 30% of the total amount of emissions if people commute to work by bus or train. To summarize, increasing fuel prices would bring a wide range of benefits to the environment around the world. Therefore, it is obvious that the idea of altering the cost of fuel could be supported. After a thorough analysis of this subject, it is predicted that the positive effects of the debate over the increasing fuel cost will be greater than the adverse effects, and because of this, the government should implement this measure as soon as possible.