Damage to the environment is an inevitable consequence of the improvement in the standard of living. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Firstly, the process that we improved our living standard has proven that point[in the sense that whatever we do to make our lives easier, we cause damage to the ecosystem]. People’s history of living development is to chase a convenient living way and it causes many issues. For instance, the invention of the plane satisfy humans' dream which [gives them the ability] to travel to other countries in an extremely short time, but it has to utilize petrol and inevitably exhausts much poisonous fume. Moreover, those gases can cause many ecological problems such as global warming and acid rain. If we want to solve the problem, we have to sacrifice the convenience which modern tools provide us. Secondly, in order to make our lives better, we have to exploit nature. From the aspects of clean-energy technology, it is hardly used widely because it is not a mature means now and individuals have to pay highly for the expensive cost of its development. For example, the solar electric cars, although they have been sold in many countries, the higher price than similar petrol-powered vehicles]make them hard to sell. This means that most of our activities related to transportation are still using power sources that are detrimental to nature, not just from their usage but also in the manner in which they are harnessed. Finally, we have not found an appropriate substitution for animal tests. Scientists have to kill animals for medical experiments that can save many people’s lives. This impacts biodiversity very adversely in the sense that it causes the depletion of certain species, flora and fauna, which causes the imbalance in ecological processes. In conclusion, I absolutely agree that if we want to improve our living qualities, we have to damage the environment. This is because, in our pursuit for convenience, we have developed technologies which contaminate the environment, but they are not mature enough to cater to the needs to the ecosystem and we also kill other species to survive.]