In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Children in some societies are told that they must make great efforts to reach whatever they want. While some people including me think that this approach would be true, others claim that it could be harmful in some aspects. On the one hand, this attitude would make your child’s life well-organized as every goal that they want to reach even if it is small, needs reasonable planning and a path to become true. Therefore, it could make the child a more focused and organized person. For example, imagine when someone reads a book as a hobby in comparison with the time when they read to learn, the result must be quite different. In addition, big purposes require big steps as well, so it may lead to making the child more motivated and even more successful in their life. For instance, if children had a dream of being medical doctors they would be more interested in learning and studying than others who have no idea about what they are going to do in the future. On the other hand, some people claim that if children do not achieve the goals they have set, they are more likely to be disappointed or depressed, but I would say it is totally wrong due to the fact that an intelligent person would always have several plans and it is unreasonable to invest all your effort on a single plan. Moreover, they also argue that these are just dreams that do not seem to be practical in the real world. This claim seems to be a pessimist approach to life as well, since we all know many rich and successful people who have achieved their great targets despite their poor background in childhood, and just by trying hard and making effort even if they had a lot of failures. In conclusion, I restate that this message can make children more motivated and successful by having big dreams, also it can organize their personal lives in a good way. The other point is that they need to have several paths for their plans and try to avoid negative thoughts as well.