As more and more information is available online, the role of textbooks has become obsolete. Therefore, universities should replace traditional books with digital materials. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Some authorities think that traditional books should be replaced by digital textbooks as information is more available online, nowadays. This essay will argue that the benefits of this outweigh the drawbacks. The main reason to switch to online books is that technology is a part of everyday life, this is to say, these days everyone from toddlers to pensioners has their own phone, and it would be simple to read in any language in any country in the world. Moreover, it costs nothing to publish or access information on the Internet. What is more, it is easy to scan/scam online on documents through a word or particular theme rather than searching on a conservative journal. Additionally, it can be easily found at home via the Internet no matter the day or night, and we do not have to check its availability in the library. On the other hand, those opposed to this say that it causes students to rely too much on computers, which is harmful to the eyes. In addition, too much sitting on smartphones harms people’s posture, because not every person keeps the rule right to use them; and keep a distance between themselves and the computer. For instance, The Times recently reported that 28% of people lost their vision because of improperly used gadgets, especially at night. In conclusion, using online materials can be advantageous, if it makes people’s life effective. However, human beings should also be careful that it does not lead to disillusionment with the result altogether.