Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is widely thought, that being a non-native speaker in a country one lives can be difficult socially and practically. I totally agree with this statement. Although living abroad could be an interesting adventure, people can face such problems as loneliness and difficulties in finding a proper job. The first problem one can find while living in a country with a different language is communication with neighbours. People are programmed by nature to be socially active and have a large number of connections and several close friends, but it is not an easy task when a person does not speak the same language the group do. Therefore, daily communication in the nearest shop or on the bus became impossible, which can cause mental problems such as sadness or even depression. The other reason why staying in a country with a foreign language is a complex task is that the person cannot find a job easily. Employees have no reason to hire a foreigner and deal with all the difficulties connected to the language. In addition, informal communication between colleagues is also an important part of daily routine. When a person is not included in coffee chats or cannot understand work-related jokes, they will feel like a ‘white crow’, which can cause the decision to quit the place. In conclusion, some people choose to live in a foreign country while working or receiving a university degree, but they cannot argue that different languages create a gap between a foreigner and national citizens.