Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a “fat tax” is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Due to the negative effects of consuming unhealthy meals on the person or even on society, some individuals argue that the government should impose a high duty on unhealthy food while others think that this idea would create some new issues. I strongly agree with the former idea. To begin with, one way to reduce the negative effect of an unhealthy diet is by imposing a higher tax on convenience food industries. With a higher levy, the price of such food would increase significantly. For example, some countries take a higher tax on cigarettes in order to reduce the number of sales as well as the people who consume them. However, collecting more duty from the fast- food restaurant could impact the restaurant and also their employees. The increase in the price tends to reduce the number of buyers. Furthermore, some restaurants would not survive during the implementation of this program. In addition to that, many people who work in this industry would be fired from their occupation and create a new problem for society as well as the country. However, the authorities might reduce the impact by giving a lower contribution to the healthy food industries and socialising their people about the importance of a healthy diet. To summarize, in order to mitigate the impact of unhealthy meals for both individuals and society as a whole, the executive could tax fast food industries at a high rate to decrease the amount people who go to eat at the quick-service restaurant.