In recent years, there has been a considerable rise in crimes committed by young people in cities. What has caused this ? What solutions can you suggest ?

It has been universally acknowledged that the problem of crimes is escalating at an alarming rate in the current scenario. This problem has been of a depressing magnitude. There are copious reasons for offences the first and last are the lack of education and poverty. Although a plethora of reasons are there yet some sensible solutions are available to curb this grave concern. Firstly, commencing with the causes which are responsible for its growth of it. the first and foremost reason is that the youth have low or no opportunities for education. furthermore, a higher number of educated youths in a society leads to a higher literacy rate. to demonstrate Sri Lanka is the most prestigious country in terms of literacy where more than 89% population is well-equipped with knowledge and information thus the crime rate is very nominal in both rural and urban areas. The second contributing factor is the poverty that is the root of crime because folks particularly youth gene have inadequate financial resources to spend their life efficiently. moreover the lack of job opportunities for young people also leads increase in criminal activities,particularly in urban areas due to urban people spending their lives in a lavish manner. Secondly, in order to solve these serious,issues some measures can be taken, Firstly The government should ensure the wider availability of education to all classes of people,especially for the youth generation. In addition, the state is responsible for the provision of core amenities by providing good employment choices but also providing monthly income to manage their personal lives. furthermore, there is a need to impose strict rules and regulations and heavily punished those who are involved with offences but also raise awareness through media to the general public about the consequences of doing illegal activities. Finally, to recapitulate unquestionably the problem has become a burning question of the day. Therefore it is not an easy task to solve this promptly. Government and institutions should come forward hand to hand to mitigate this complex issue through the aforementioned suggestions.