The continued rise in the world’s population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In these current times, the escalation in the global population has established great risks for humanity. From my standpoint, this essay will justify the reasons for this degrading issue and will elaborate the factors contributing to it along with suitable instances. As per the UN reports, the worldwide estimated population is 7.9 billion which has led to the “ population explosion” in vast areas of living. There are a few causes which contribute to the rapid growth of this phenomenon. The advancement of medicine and technology departments have made major breakthroughs and have significantly increased life expectancy. Earlier, people lived upto 40+ years. Today, the age gap has doubled and an average individual can live upto more than 70 years. Furthermore, there is also a noticeable decline in the mortality rate and a remarkable increase in birth rates, meaning more lives are being saved and more children are being born. Another leading cause for the booming population is illiteracy rate. Several people, especially women, remain uneducated in developing nations due to lack of resources and stereotypes. An example: the US census Bureau revealed that 200 million people especially females with a rural background are uneducated. More importantly, the lack of using contraceptives is among the major reasons for the addition of persons, globally. In retrospective, most of the rural areas don’t provide sex education to students. Being unaware about the basic biological needs, many men and women often engage in activities without protection. Contraceptives like copper T, birth control pills and condoms can actually avoid the formation of zygotes. For example, in the rural part of Bangladesh in the 1990's, a campaign was initiated by the women which emphasized on how women can avoid giving birth and how population can be controlled. The doctors went from door to door and injected the women with shots for birth control every 3 months. However, amongst other issues faced by mankind, the exceeding number of individual colonies have a detrimental impact both economically and environmentally. For living conditions, several people are known to migrate to respective areas where buildings are constructed leading to destruction of habitats, forcing the animals out of their homes and disrupting the ecological balance. In order to set up various industries, factories, agricultural sectors or even accommodation, innumerable forests are cleared in order to develop these man-made stories. Eventually, the expansion of these buildings leads to emissions of Co2 and learning the green belt. Moreover, this phenomenon also heightens the conflicts of interest and unequal distribution of resources. Both the developed and developing nations need to function properly in terms of economic vitality. In certain times, there is also a conflict of basic shared resources between countries. At times, due to limited availability of products, the charges put on them are extremely high which considerably lowers the sale value, ultimately affecting the financial sector of the nation. For example: As per reports conducted by Yale environment in 2014, the Middle- East (Turkey, Iran and Syria) is on the verge of war for two rivers Tigris and Euphrates. Many soldiers (Sunni militants) lost their lives due to the ongoing conflict. In conclusion, it can be stated that the succeeding rise in the number of people may have a detrimental impact on mankind. If the authorities can curb this menace and implement suitable methods, then humanity can be burdened less and may witness a bright future ahead.