In many countries, young people are moving from rural areas to cities to work or study. Why is this happening? What are advantages or disadvantages of this trend?

Cities offer excellent education facilities, job opportunities and a better standard of living. This is why the influx of people in cities is ever-increasing and young people mostly move to cities, away from their families, to pursue a better education and to have a job. Though there are many advantages to this trend, negative sides are also there. To commence with, the young generation has to move to cities to get admitted into better colleges or universities. Evidently, cities have more specialised universities while rural areas scarcely have such facilities. This is why parents want their children to study in a college in a city rather than in a village. Moreover, jobs, business opportunities, living standard, health care and technological advancements often bound educated young to move to urban areas. For instance, an IT professional has almost no chances of having a job in a remote area while there are plenty of opportunities for this person in a city. I believe that there are more advantages to this trend, though the negative consequences should also be considered. First of all, only a handful of youth would be able to start a career in villages and most of them would eventually be forced to move. This is because the opportunity and facilities in cities are much wider. Unless the government creates new job opportunities for the educated young generation in rural areas, forcing them to stay there would be a terrible idea. On the contrary, if everyone moves to the cities, the rural areas will always remain underdeveloped and would lack talented entrepreneurs. This would also increase the population density and pollutions in metro areas. In conclusion, some professionals, like doctors should be encouraged to work in rural areas while professionals like software developers should stay in the city. However, the government should take initiatives to build new offices and factories in rural areas so that young people can work and stay there.