Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally friendly and economical. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays, a lot of companies use globalisation to outsource the manufacturing of foods to greenhouses in other regions. Because of this, the production costs for these companies decrease which makes it easier for them to increase their profits. Although, other individuals tend to believe that it is better to eat locally produced products because of the positive effects on the environment and economy. Hereafter will I will discuss, by comparing the advantages and disadvantages of global production, if this group is right. Firstly, as mentioned in the opening paragraph, globalisation has led to lower costs. Subsequently, the prices of the goods will be lower in comparison with the same product which is locally produced. For example, if you buy tomatoes in the grocery store there is a high chance that these are cultivated in South Europe. This is because of the better environmental circumstances. If we try to grow tomatoes locally, we have to simulate the climate in our greenhouses. Consequently, the prices of the goods will be higher. Nevertheless, it will be better for the environment if only consume goods that are cultivated nearby the place we live. For instance, we do not have to transport the products by plane or boat. Emerging from this, the greenhouse impacts will be lowered. However, I just stated that we have to simulate the circumstances. This can only be done by using gas or electricity, those commodities will also have a negative impact on the environment. In conclusion, I think that it is better to eat local products if we can choose between a local product and a cheaper version of it produced in another part of the world. On the other hand, if we do not have a substitution for the good it is better to outsource the making to decrease the price.