Some people think that in order to prevent illness and disease, governments should make efforts in reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly believed that the government must implement rules and regulations that can reduce environmental pollution and housing problems, which in turn can help prevent diseases. I vehemently agree with the statement made and in this essay will discuss the reasons behind my agreement. First, pollution is the cause of a number of diseases today. To clarify further, these not only cause life-threatening diseases, such as cancer, but also reduce average life expectancy. For example, an article published by - The Times - in the UK in 2015, revealed that the number of cancer patients was a whopping 65% higher than before 2010. So, it is impossible denies that governments should play an essential role in ensuring security. to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. Is there any other reason behind my consent? Absolutely yes. In terms of disease prevention, governments should make efforts to reduce housing problems because these problems are responsible for higher rates of disease. To decipher this, these could lead to the construction of countless slums, thus polluting the environment and water, producing various disease-causing viruses, leading to a large number of sick people. for example, most mosquito-borne diseases are directly or indirectly linked to slums as they are responsible for creating favorable environments for them. Therefore, authorities need to take effective measures to prevent this growing trend. In conclusion, despite the fact that there are several other reasons for the increasing number of sick people, pollution and housing issues are the most prominent ones as they are responsible for countless diseases. However, the government should take necessary steps to reduce pollution as well as build houses to accommodate people living in slums and streets.