The education of young people is highly prioritised in many countries. However, educating adults who cannot write and read is even more important and governments should spend more money on this. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The economy of governments hugely depends on the literacy of their citizens. There is a debatable concept that whether the investment by the government should be allocated to the education of the young generation or the older generation who are illiterate. I suppose this money should be invested in the education of both generations equally and the reasons behind this will be provided in this essay. On the one hand, the government should invest money in the education of the young generation, as their young brains are capable of absorbing a great deal of information during their childhood and adolescent years. This may lead to an increase in literacy among the population, resulting in a more stable economy for the country, as these young people, in turn, will work and pay taxes for the government in the upcoming years. A 2-year-old child, for instance, can learn some simple Math skills, the alphabet and even two languages at the same time, if he or she is trained. Thus, the younger age people are educated, the more knowledgeable they will become. On the other hand, the significance of illiterate adult education also should not be overlooked but the government also should provide free vocational training. This is because it might, hopefully, decrease the unemployment and crime rates among people, leading to successfully, sustaining the peace in society. The unemployment trend has, significantly, declined among females in Uzbekistan, after offering free sewing training courses, for instance. Hence, allocating money to less-educated people’s education is also advisable. In conclusion, having considered all, I reiterate the government should invest money in the education of both age groups for the development of the economy and the welfare of citizens.