Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are two main opinions of human beings' natural characteristics and their environment. Though it is not possible to ignore the natural characteristics, still the importance of environment and experiences outweighs the former. On one hand, people say that the effect of the ways they are born with is so enormous that almost every result that they are trying to make is already ready-made. That is, once people's characteristics are made when they were born, it would be hard to change them. For example, when some people were born with high resilience and positiveness, they would be more patient and less likely to give up something easily than those who are not, after experiencing difficulties thanks to their natural characteristics. On the other hand, there are many examples that prove surrounding environment and atmosphere can switch someone's character. If they were naturally very introverted, they can still be extroverted and socially connected with tons of people. For instance, if twins had been born but grew up in different family houses, their characters look way different from each other despite the same inheritance. That is, even though one of the twins looks shy and submissive in front of strangers because of his or her natural character, the other one looks adventurous and open-minded to new affairs due to her or his background with other people. In conclusion, though the importance of natural characters cannot be ignored, as the experiences that people have after they were born play a key role in making their characters, their effects of them outweigh the natural characters.