Some believe that modern technology is increasing the gap between rich and poor, while others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that modern technology is widening the gulf between rich and poor, whereas others feel that it is bridging it. I agree with the former point of view because technology by and large benefits wealthy people. On the one hand, it can be argued that the poor can now educate themselves online for free. In the pre-Internet era, those who had little education almost had no opportunity to ‘escape’ to better employment. They had to do low-skilled jobs and earn minimum wages all their working life. However, now poor people can acquire knowledge by reading articles and watching tutorials on the Internet without charge. The knowledge they have gained can help them change their fate. However, I disagree with this argument because those that are truly destitute might not have access to a computer or the Internet. On the other hand, technology mainly works to the advantage of the rich. This is because they can afford to use advanced technology to create more wealth. Manual workers, in comparison, are being replaced by automation. For example, while Amazon founder Jeff Bezos is getting richer and richer as he keeps investing in logistics automation for the company’s warehouses, farmers and miners are losing their jobs to robots. I agree with this opinion because the poor cannot even keep their manual labour jobs, let alone close the gap with the rich. In conclusion, I think modern technology is exacerbating economic inequality because it is primarily in favour of already wealthy people.