In recent years, pressure on school and university students has been increasing and they are pushed to work very hard from a young age. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

A considerable proportion of students and their parents, in this present-day society, cannot help complaining that students are suffering from incredible stress in schools and colleges. It seems that they only focus on some possibly adverse outcomes of pressure, but ignore the potential advantages. First off, almost all students in this day and age are being surrounded by a whole variety of distractions like online games and hit TV dramas. For instance, students of a young age often lack self-control, which implies that their study can be more negatively impacted. The proper pressure given by their teachers or parents is able to greatly help them get rid of those unnecessary disturbances. Furthermore, under proper pressure, those students can be highly motivated and their study efficiency can be substantially enhanced. On top of this, students studying under constant pressure can gain skills to cope with stress. Those skills will certainly play irreplaceable and significant roles in their future life and career. Without any doubt, every student will finally go out into the world and will be confronted with far more stress than they used to face in school. At that point, there is not enough time for them to get accustomed to it, unless they have already been trained for living with proper pressure. Contrarily, excessive pressure will definitely bring those students some negative results such as insomnia, anxiety and even depression. In fact, both teachers and parents can control students ’ level of stress, and assist them to relieve the stress scientifically and reasonably. Admittedly, neither studying in a pressure -free environment nor an undue pressure environment is a rational choice for students. In summary, students will meet pressure in their lives sooner or later, so being plagued by a certain amount of stress in schools and colleges seems more acceptable and positive for students as they can tackle all of the hardships with useful guidance from teachers and parents. If not, how arduous their future life might be is beyond our imagination.