Many doctors are concerned about the high use of computer games by children and young people. What mental and physical problems may arise from excessive use of these games? How could these problems be reduced?

Nowadays, the wide use of video games by youngsters has become a serious issue that many doctors are concerned about. This essay will outline some consequences this problem may lead to, as well as suggesting some possible solutions. One of the most common consequences is that children would be involved with sedentary lifestyle, which makes them less active than before and reduces the tendency to take part in outdoor activities. For example, due to their lack of activity, they are more likely to get obese, also their eyesight might be damaged as they spend a lot of time looking at the monitor. Moreover, in terms of mental problems, their cognitive and communicative growth would be slower than normal. For example, they are less likely to be as mature as their peers who have experienced taking part in group activities, especially when they have to tackle real-life problems as they've lived in a fantasy world. I think the best solution to this problem is that the government must inform the public about the damages and consequences in a way that is efficient. For instance, well-known athletes could influence the youngsters by their fame to inform them about the harmful effects that this habit may have. Another recommended solution is that school officials can encourage the students to participate in sports programs, but the considerable point is that the program must motivate the sense of competition in students to persuade them to take part. For instance, there might be awards for the winners or sports festivals. To conclude, I restate that the high use of video games is certainly harmful to children in several aspects. It may lead to physical problems such as being overweight or poor eyesight. Mental issues like weak social skills must be considered as well. But I think the problem could be controlled by encouraging the children to participate in sports events or informing society about the subsequent issues it may lead to.