In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new fast trains between cities. others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days, transportation is one of the crucial concerns in some parts of the globe. While some believe that infrastructure development for high-speed trains is of high importance, I agree with those who feel that investment must be made in current public transport. On the one hand, it could be argued that the money should be spent on establishing new railway lines for speedy trains. Those who support this idea say that the greatest benefit of this type of investing is to reduce travel time and have efficient long-distance travel. Consequently, people are able to travel from one side of a country to another in the blink of an eye. Furthermore, they also argue that infrastructure development allows individuals to use trains instead of airplanes, which have high-cost tickets, especially on holidays. On the other hand, I side with those who believe that funds have to be allocated to upgrading shared transport. It is a fact that people's satisfaction with their trip is a big deal because it encourages them to use a wide variety of public transport. Moreover, in my opinion, sustainability and accessibility are other major desires for travellers. Since they need to reach different types of public transport anywhere and anytime. However, perhaps my strongest argument for devoting funds to this area is because of safety and reliability that passengers want to have and this is obvious for authorities and officials. In conclusion, although investing in new technology for rail systems leads to time saving, spending money for upgrading transport systems helps people to acquire safety and accessibility. Therefore, on balance, I strongly believe that governemnt should devote a major number to improving existing shared transport.