Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

This is often argued that economic progress is the most important duty of governments, while others believe that there are other equally important measures of growth. In my opinion, although the economy should be one of the greatest important goals of each country, it would be unsustainable without scientific or political progress. On the one hand, some governments concentrate on economic fields, because it can make a powerful nation and a self-confident country. Money plays an important role in societies and its influences would be not only on facilities but also on other people’s life forms. For example, The UAE began economic progress by relying on oil selling, but it was followed by foreign investment in transportation and tourism. Of course, the development planning focused on just the economy would not be sustainable for a long period of time. On the other hand, some people say that countries need all types of development in equal status because just economic growth is most unlikely to be sustained and all aspects of development, altogether, would make a successful nation. For instance, Iraq, for a period of time, earns a lot of money from oil trading but their officials spend a lot of money on the army instead of other aspects including technology, science, politics, etc and they could not follow the development in all area and finally, they have been broken. Hence, I think governments need all types of growth simultaneously. In conclusion, although the economy is a very important factor in growth, politics should begin to improve other aspects by use of investment in some fields such as knowledge and industry.