Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, putting personal information such as an address, contact number, etc, online has become a usual habit for most people while signing up for social networks, online banking and so on. There can be some benefits but it also has enough drawbacks to claim as a negative development. Although online systems are said to be safe and reliable, people should never fully trust them. Social networks like websites often assure that our privacy is highly valued yet filling in very confidential details online is such a risky action. As an example, our country, Myanmar, is going through a military coup at the moment and many innocent political activists are being arrested as their locations are tracked by using the address and numbers verified in their online banking accounts. In addition, despite being said that our identity is kept secret, some advertisements that we receive through email or sometimes, even phone calls are highly suspicious. Thus, the storage of confidential data on the internet does not seem secure enough to be guaranteed safe and private. Moreover, some people even upload their location, numbers and other personal information to the public on social media such as Facebook, Instagram, etc. It is such a reckless and harmful act to reveal a lot about us to people online in this problematic age. It is extremely unfavourable because it can trigger lots of detrimental impacts on our security and safety in the future. In conclusion, filling in our address, numbers and some confidential data online seems as if it is not a big deal but the amount of harm it can cause later is unbelievably horrible. Thus, it is definitely not a positive development and even if people had no other choice, they should be really careful about the platform that they are signing up for.