To meet the growing needs of food for the increasing population, country should make use of edible insects as foods. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but affect negatively the nature too. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the rapid growth of the world population and the shortage of food sources, many nations consider using insect products as additional possible cuisine. On the contrary, It is also believed that eating insects might affect the health of consumers and impact the natural environment. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of eating insects. Two major benefits of insects are providing a rich origin of nutritious foods and eliminating the harm to crops. Firstly, some kinds of insects are proven edible and provide more nutrition than conventional meats such as beef, pork, and chicken, therefore these insects can be a good additional source of food and diversify the diet of people. For example, cricket provides more protein than beef and is widely eaten in some areas of Thailand and Vietnam. Secondly, there are some kinds of insects that are harmful to the crops that can be safe for eating. Consuming this safety to eat insects is a better way to reduce to impact on crops rather than using pesticides. However, eating insects also have some drawbacks like effects on ecology and some insects are poisonous and dangerous. Because Insects are in the food chain, they are the food for other types of animals like birds, reptiles,... hunting too much wild insects may affect the food source of other species. Consequently, the ecology imbalance. In addition, some types of insects have poison, therefore hunting or eating these insects might be dangerous and harmful to health. For example, scorpions are used as food or medicine in some Asian countries are poisonous, thus using scorpions as food must be careful unless it harms health or even death. In conclusion, although eating insects has certain drawbacks like the effect on ecology and unhealthy for people due to some insects having poison. it has significant advantages in solving the population growth and shortage of food as an additional source of food and preventing flora from disease.