Many people in society believe that having fixed punishment for all crimes is a more efficient way of dealing with criminals in the justice system. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment system?

The justice system is always questioned due to various judgments towards the same crime committed by different people separately. applying fixed punishment for all crimes is considered more efficient and more powerful than judging each criminal by motivations and situations, however, a fixed punishments system could also lead to disadvantages like injustice and unfairness. This essay discusses both sides of applying a fixed punishment system. On one hand, the benefits of attaching a fixed punishment system are efficiency and power. For instance, if the death penalty is attributed to all the murderers, the jobs left to the justice system would decline into solving the cases and sentence the murderers to the death penalty, we would no longer need the attorneys and courts to defend the murderer once we identify the suspects as murderers. Hence, it could be much more efficient than listening to the criminals for their reasons for committing murders under an unfixed punishment system. Meanwhile, the potential criminals would learn that there are no exceptions to escape a certain kind of punishment or commutation once they committed crimes and were arrested. Laws might even be more powerful to prevent people from crimes in such cases. On the other hand, an arbitrary punishment system could lead to injustice and unfairness. For instance, sometimes dangerous approaches generated to protect oneself from crimes could lead to death, which could be considered murders as well. However, the death penalty should not be adjudged to people who cause death because of self-defense, because if these kinds of defendants do not take any actions they might die. In these kind of cases, a fixed punishment system is too arbitrary to meet the requirement of justice and fairness. In conclusion, generating a fixed punishment system benefits in accelerating the speed of dealing with crimes and empowering the authorities to prevent crimes by cruel results, however, it also renders the justice system to be more stubborn and could increase injustice and unfairness.