Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent days most people are spending their leisure time in activities like shopping which becomes a common thing. It has both advantages and disadvantages. There are several reasons for shopping becoming so popular these days. It will affect every individual in many ways. We will discuss them in detail below. On one hand, due to an increase in shopping activities, many businesses like restaurants, coffee shops and cabs will also increase in number. Moreover, employment will also increase by a significant number to fulfil the needs which is a good thing for society. For example, if the number of people coming to a supermarket increases, the owners would start another branch. So, they will earn more profit. So, with the increase in the number of businesses, employment will also increase which is a benefit to society. On the other hand, if we get more attracted to shopping, we would spend most of our hard-earned money on it. Spending a lot of money on shopping is not an ideal thing. Every individual should definitely spend only a little amount on shopping and they should invest the remaining money so that they can get a decent amount of return on their investments. For example, recently I decided to buy new clothes and I used to spend most of my leisure time finding the best place to buy them. Later I realised that if I spend that good amount of time studying that would help me to get a job sooner. In conclusion, an Increase in shopping activities will definitely have positive effects on society. When it comes to individuals we should plan how much amount of money we could spend so that it won't affect our future.