In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

The advancement of technology has brought many benefits to the world, particularly in the workplace. A few years ago, many people used to travel to their workplace because, certain devices were only accessed in their offices, for example, computers, the internet and smartphones, but because, of the advancement of technology, today we have seen, companies allowing their workers to work from home, even though, they are some individuals that will take advantage, instead of doing their work, they will spend their time doing things which are not work -related, to the extent that, their work outcome is poor. Firstly, I am going to support the idea of working from home. It saves lots of morning hustles, especially when it comes to traffic in the mornings. Hence giving the other individuals less pressure on the roads. Because many individuals are working from home, I believe much is achieved in the sense that, they don't need lots of time in the morning for preparation, but they wake up at a reasonable time, bath eat and start working in the comfort of their homes, therefore, making much progress. This was made possible because they now have access to all the required devices including wifi connections and advanced latest phones, with access to everything which they need. Secondly, as much as I support working from home, with all its positivity, I also, have observed the negative side of it thus, companies should also look into and see how it can be solved. There are certain individuals that can not perform without supervision. So, as they work from home they are not effective and their level of productivity is very low, causing others to end up doing more work, than them. They always have excuses for not completing their work. Some use company devices given to them, for their personal use, like, allowing their partners and children even friends and relatives to some extent to use company devices, However the negative side is outweighed by the positive side. In Summary, I would say, yes working from home has more advantages than travelling to the workplace. Companies have witnessed increased productivity, cut costs on buildings, teas and coffees and other expenses.