Some educationalists say that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a controversial statement heating a debate over whether or not young people should learn how to play a musical instrument. While there are some latent drawbacks, I still consider myself an advocate of this perspective. It is irrefutable that teaching courses about musical instruments can tremendously do wonders for a child’s development, one of which is for entertainment purposes. Evidently, participating in musical activities might be soothing and stress-reducing after mind-numbing studying hours so the children can boost their energy as well as enhance their performance at school. For instance, children can invest their time in learning their favorite instruments such as violin or guitar at school by joining groups of friends or music communities. This will bring them a great sense of gratification and enjoyable experiences. Therefore, it is of essence to teach music courses for kids due to its positive effects on their life. While the merits of playing musical instruments are widely acknowledged, it should not be considered one of the compulsory subjects. It is evident that nowadays the majority of bright career ladders mostly require insights in science-related subjects which may have nothing to do with music knowledge. For instance, children need to excel in chief subjects such as mathematics, physics or chemistry to land a decent job such as medical practitioner or engineer. Thus, it might be a waste of time for them to take music courses at school. To sum up, while under several circumstances that teaching musical instruments can be unnecesary and a waste of time, I am still well-convinced that every kid should involve in musical activities at school.