Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Young age is a crucial part of life, the upbringing of an individual plays an important role in the overall development of a person. Some opine that permitting children to make their own decision in everyday matters will probably lead to a society of self-centered people. Others believe that is necessary for children to act upon the matters that they are affected with. Through this essay, I would like to address both sides of the coin. Allowing children to make their own choices without proper supervision will render them to become selfish and may harm them in achieving a good lifestyle. Such children may get a sense of satisfaction when they keep on indulging in poor habits, which when left unsupervised leads to a society of self-centered individuals. For example, When an adolescent gets addicted to tobacco, it may cause detrimental health effects when he grows up and would burden his fellow family members with hospital bills that keep on racking, this is because he was accustomed to satisfying his own needs without prioritizing others. On the contrary, It is a good practice to leave children to their will by letting them explore their interests as it is a crucial aspect in making an individual confident and happy. Controlling a child's actions at every step that he takes makes him frustrated as he is not able to pursue his interests and as a result, he remains frustrated throughout his life. Eventually, he will not come across as a successful person. For Instance, if a child is interested in pursuing a career in arts, but his parents continue to force him to study sciences, it will ultimately lead to a degraded performance as the child himself will not be willing to put an effort as his interests lie somewhere else. To sum up, children need to make their own decisions regarding the issues that affect them directly, However, it is a healthy practice to supervise their actions at a young age by being supportive and not merely by controlling their actions at every step.