Many young children are spending large amount of time in front of screens. What are the causes of this and what other problems does it lead to?

These days it is observed that many young children have increased screen time which is leading to many disadvantages. This essay will discuss the root cause of this behaviour and what repercussions it has on young minds following which some solutions would also be given. Firstly, exposure to physical activities is a very integral part of a child's growth however due to parents having a busy schedule, they prefer to not encourage their child to go outside and interact with difficulties. The lack of supervision and time spent with family often hampers the cognitive development of a child which leads to intellectual degradation and a lack of confidence building. Secondly, the restrictions on the content being produced for children are very less. Few reports on cartoon television shows conclude that at the age of 3 years, around 60% of children in India spend 12 hours of their day in front of screens due to highly animated visuals. This has resulted in abnormal behaviours which include feeling agitated or having no communication with teachers. In conclusion, the surge in using advanced technology for short-term entertainment gives the younger generation an escape that their underdeveloped minds cannot comprehend. This often results in a lack of interpersonal skills which form the foundation of their daily interactions and ability to solve small problems. Henceforth, boundaries should be put on the time spent by a child using any type of mobile, tablet or computer and stricter regulations should be put into action for authorising the outgoing content for the younger population.