In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems? What measures could be taken to solve them?

Nowadays, in some western nations especially in America, the proportion of obese people is increasing while the figure for healthy lifestyles and fitness is declining heavily. From my perspective, unhealthy diets and sedentary working styles are the main reasons for this negative tendency explained in this essay. On the one hand, the majority of office workers spend 8 hours a day sitting in front of computers to finish their tasks. This working trend lowered the average health of a country because staff don’t usually take physical exercise which is a huge potential for developing diseases such as spine issues and obesity. Therefore, I think the best solution for this is to provide gyms in workplaces and employees should have more time to take a break rather than a few minutes for lunch. Another reason for reducing the fitness of a nation is the unhealthy diet of many citizens. Because of the over-development of many industries, contaminated water and degraded soil make the production of fresh vegetables become harder than ever before which later causes increasing veggies prices and the poor cannot afford it. As a result, the government allocates money to another food source- raising animals for meat. For example, when shopping in the supermarket, it is easy to find meats and dairy sections at cheap prices while vegetables are unaffordable for many people. Hence, I think the government should concern more about diet issues and take actions such as improving soil quality and cutting the prices of edible plants. In conclusion, overdeveloped food industries make it hard to grow vegetables and sedentary working styles cause obesity. However, the key point does they willing to change themselves or not.