The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often considered that the working week should be limited and employees should have a longer weekend. I strongly agree with this notion because workers will have more time to themselves, and they will be able to engage in other productive activities. To begin, employees should have their leisure time for self-care and daily responsibilities. This is for their self-care, clinic appointments, relaxation, shopping, cooking and other household chores. Staff often work tirelessly and forget to look after themselves, thus, most of them break down, and this can lead to health issues such as migraine headaches, fatigue and body pain. Moreover, their gross pay does not cover their health expenses. For example, people who work in an organisation like banks, offices and schools work non-stop. Many of them develop obesity and fatigue because they do not take their health and self-care seriously. In addition, some do not have the luxury of time to shop for their groceries and foodstuffs. Hence, they buy fast food made of unknown ingredients which is detrimental to consumers’ health. Furthermore, workers should have more time away from work to be productive. Individuals tend to realise other things they are good at, apart from their various 9-5 jobs. They can discover their talents and how they can be creative on their own. Some might also be interested in starting their own businesses. For instance, many artists work part- time while pursuing their careers, which allows them to make a living, but because some of them are not too consumed with their jobs, they realised they could do more and further pursue their personal dream. They can pursue careers such as becoming artists, rappers, actresses, fashion stylists and many more. Additionally, it also allows people to connect with friends, family and their loved ones. In conclusion, the working week should be shorter and weekends should be longer, as it allows the employees to look after themselves and improves their productivity.