In order to solve traffic problems, the government should tax private car owners heavily use their money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Traffic problems have become a controversial issue for governments to tackle. One of the solutions is through the tax penalty for those who own a private car and spend the money on public transportation enhancement. In my opinion, this remedy is a two-sided sword with both benefits and drawbacks. On the one hand, the pecuniary penalty for car owners has two main advantages. Firstly, there will be fewer numbers of cars. Many people cannot afford a heavy tax to buy an auto, therefore, most of them probably use public transportation such as buses and subways. For example, a family may use a private car and pay for expenditures such as fuel but do not have extras money to be taxed and consequently will not own a vehicle. Secondly, the government will earn money from those who still have a car that can be used to renew public transportation and buy more buses or trains. More population will use this transportation system if there are proper and adequate facilities. On the other hand, there are also two radical downsides to the solution. One of them is that this penalty will probably bring difficulty for those who live in the countryside. There are people who prefer to live there for different reasons such as fresh air and less noise pollution but work in the city. Community with public transportation may not be favorable for these areas because it takes a long time to commute as well as a lack of regular buses and trains. For instance, a person can go to the city by his/her car in 30-minutes which increases to one hour and a half by bus. Another disadvantage is for those with disabilities. Using public transportation will not be as easy as a private car for these people due to the crowd and inappropriate public vehicles. In conclusion, taxing private car owners can be a solution to traffic problems but it simultaneously benefits and harms people.