Many students have trouble being able to focus on school studies, with their attention span increasingly deteriorating. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

It has been found that the attention span is decreasing among youngsters and many of them find it difficult to concentrate on their studies. Increasing usage of mobile devices is the major cause behind this. I feel strict supervision by parents is required to resolve the issue. The paramount reason behind children’s focus time going down is the rising use of cell phones. They are normally glued to the screen of their smartphone and spend too much time on social media platforms, which are designed to make young ones addicted to their experience. For instance, a simple Whatsapp text makes them check it instantly even at the cost of a loss in their focus while studying as the child is addicted to using it. In addition, most of the remaining mobile apps have also started making use of push notifications and smart marketing campaigns to constantly try to bring back the user on their platform multiple times a day. As a result, most children are easily distracted and are not able to give their full attention to anything. Talking about the solutions, parents need to keep a tight watch on how often their child is checking their mobile. This involvement is super important as parents can control the duration and frequency of cell phone usage by their little ones. Moreover, they need to make schedules around which apps can be used at a particular time, which forces the youngster to use their screen time judiciously. To illustrate, locking instant messaging apps like FB, and IG during school hours is a great way to keep the focus on study. With time, children become mature, and they get better control of their attention window. To conclude, the ability to be fully focused and attentive is decreasing among adolescents due to over usage of smartphones. A strict vigil by elders is required to solve this pressing issue.