Some people say that individuals who make a lot of money are the most successful. Others think that those who contribute to society like scientists and teachers are more successful. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion

People have different views as to whether people who are rich are more successful than people who put others before themselves. Despite the fact that wealthy people are held in high regard, I believe that selfless people should be given more respect. On the one hand, there are two main reasons to believe that rich people are considered to be successful. Firstly, under capitalism, success is often measured by how much money a person has and not how much contribution one makes. In a highly materialistic society, people are judged based on their possessions, ranging from the vehicles they drive to the brand-name clothes they have. Secondly, many people are self-made billionaires who have worked very hard and smart, overcoming countless obstacles and disappointments. Unfortunately, not everyone can do this since the majority of people can barely make ends meet or they rather lack the determination. However, selfless people like scientists and teachers should be given more social recognition. These people sacrifice themselves for the greater good and always think of other people before themselves. Without teachers who work for public rather than private schools, an all-inclusive society will not exist as many underprivileged people will be ignored and left behind. As a result, there will be huge social inequalities and many people will have no choice but to protest, rob or create chaos in order to survive. For instance, there have been a lot of protests because of unequal wealth distribution in countries like Thailand where there are a large number of rich and successful people. In conclusion, although being rich can mean being very successful, it seems to me that success should be measured by social contributions.