There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have children. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for couples who decide to do this

Nowadays, the number of married couples prefer not to have children is increasing around the world. Although this choice might result in less household expenditures and its subsequent extra money for spending on leisure activities, it suffers from the disadvantages that leave them alone during their old ages. The following essay will look at the main benefit and drawback of this phenomenon. On one hand, not having children keeps a great deal of money and time, which can be spent on enjoying life. This is because for a child to become a productive and contributive member of a society, parents should spend enough money on registering them in schools and enough time on nurturing them. Moreover, as the number of a household increases basic needs' expenses go up. For instance, a couple can easily live in a one bedroom flat whereas they need to move to a two bedroom house after giving a birth, which is more expensive. Therefore, couples with no offspring can save their money and time for themselves and have fewer responsibilities. On the other hand, elderlies are dependent people, who need to socialise with the younger generation to remain healthy. For example, the deterioration of their eyesight and memories makes them dependent on others for doing their daily activities. This help can be obtained from either their children or caregivers, who they can not usually afford. Consequently, not having offspring leads to their disability and superfluous expenses for caregivers. In addition, they will be deprived of happiness a young person usually brings to their houses, which is essential for their mental health. To sum up, not having children is a decision that has its own two sides. Saving more money and time to dedicate to ourselves is located against remaining lonely and helpless during old ages. I believe that the above-said drawback negates the benefit.